Sabine J. Wiedenhofer 1974

Color & light – a Lo v e A f f a i r“

The interaction with the viewer

Sabine Wiedenhofer, with Italo-Hungarian roots, born in Vienna, combines several facets of the contemporary concept of art: she works with photography, painting, sculpture, glass and metal and combines different materials to create increasingly complex works.

Wiedenhofer combines different visual languages to emphasize her artistic expression. Sabine Wiedenhofer's work results from a combination of diverse visual elements and materials. The artist's main focus is on the themes of light, colour on glass technology and glass effects, with which she has caused a sensation internationally at the Glasstress Biennale di Venezia, Art Miami, Art Wynwood, Art Contemporary Palm Beach and nationally at Art Austria, Vienna Contemporary and Art Salzburg.

Cubes, squares are generally main themes in Wiedenhofer's work, the basis of the cube is the square. Like the square, the cube is a symbol of wholeness, on the one hand a symbol of the power of fate, of the fixed and irrevocable, of eternity, but also of the principle of chance, of fickleness. The falling of dice has always been an occasion to try one's own luck, to challenge or question fate. The different squares and rectangles are meant to stimulate the lateral thinking of the individual, which swims against the current, but the stringing together also symbolizes the facets of life, ups and downs and in the end one comes to the conclusion. Nothing is as it is - or as it seems to be

The artist does not use any highly technical equipment whatsoever; the complexity of her works stems from the careful planning phase, which despite its apparent simplicity is immensely elaborate. Wiedenhofer is an artist who constantly seeks interaction with the viewer. The variety and range of her works and their implementation is impressive. Wiedenhofer is no longer an insider tip, the auction houses Kinsky (Vienna) and Hampel (Munich) regularly have her works in their portfolios.

Dr. Cem Angeli

 

Fotocredit: Atelier Wiedenhofer - Julie Brass

born in: 
Vienna
lives and works in: 
Vienna, Murano, New York City
epic purple, 2018
epic purple, 2018
Miami, 2019, 120 x 90 cm
Sabine Johanna Wiedenhofer
dispatched, 160 x 106 cm

Sabine J. Wiedenhofer 1974

Color & light – a Lo v e A f f a i r“

Die Interaktion mit dem Betrachter

Sabine Wiedenhofer, mit italo-ungarischen Wurzeln, in Wien geboren, vereinigt mehrere Facetten des gegenwärtigen Kunstbegriffs: Sie arbeitet mit Fotografie, Malerei, Plastik, Glas und Metall und verbindet verschiedenartige Materialien, um immer komplexere Werke hervorzubringen.

Wiedenhofer vereint unterschiedliche Bildsprachen, um ihre künstlerische Ausdrucksweise zu betonen. Sabine Wiedenhofers Werk resultiert aus einer Vereinigung vielfältiger visueller Elemente und Materialien. Die Künstlerin befasst sich vor allem mit den Themen Licht, Farbe auf Glastechnik und Glaseffekten, womit sie international unter anderem  bei der Glasstress Biennale di Venezia, Art Miami, Art Wynwood, Art Contemporary Palm Beach und national bei der Art Austria, Vienna Contemporary und der Art Salzburg Furore gemacht hat.

Würfel, Quadrate sind generell Hauptthemen in Wiedenhofer´s Arbeiten, die Basis des Würfels ist das Quadrat. Wie das Quadrat so gilt auch der Würfel als Ganzheitssymbol, einerseits Symbol für die Schicksalsmacht, des Festen und Unwiderruflichen, der Ewigkeit, andererseits aber auch für das Zufallsprinzip, für Wankelmut. Das Fallen von Würfeln war zu allen Zeiten Anlass sein eigenes Glück zu erproben, das Schicksal herauszufordern oder zu befragen. Die unterschiedlichen Quadrate und Rechtecke sollen das Querdenken des einzelnen anregen, das gegen den Strom schwimmen, die Aneinanderreihung symbolisiert aber auch die Facetten des Lebens, ups and downs und am Ende kommt man zu der Erkenntnis . Nichts ist wie es ist – oder wie es zu sein scheint

Die Künstlerin verwendet keinerlei hochtechnische Ausrüstung, die Komplexität ihrer Arbeiten rührt von der sorgfältigen Planungsphase her, die trotz der scheinbaren Einfachheit immens aufwendig ist. Wiedenhofer ist eine Künstlerin, die ständig die Interaktion mit dem Betrachter sucht. Die Vielfältigkeit und Bandbreite ihrer Arbeiten und deren Umsetzung ist beeindruckend. Wiedenhofer ist kein Geheimtipp mehr, die Auktionshäuser Kinsky (Wien) und Hampel (München) haben ihre Arbeiten regelmäßig in ihrem Portfolio.

Dr. Cem Angeli

Fotocredit: Atelier Wiedenhofer - Julie Brass

geboren in: 
Wien
lebt und arbeitet in: 
Wien, Murano, New York City
epic purple, 2018
epic purple, 2018
Miami, 2019, 120 x 90 cm
Sabine Johanna Wiedenhofer
dispatched, 160 x 106 cm